World No.1 golfer Tiger Woods has been voted PGA Tour player of the year for the 11th time.

Voted by his fellow players, Woods finished above British Open champion Phil Mickelson, Masters champion Adam Scott, FedEx Cup champion Henrik Stenson and Matt Kuchar.

Although the American failed to win a major this year he did win five events in total - three more than anyone else.

Woods, who won at the Vardon Trophy earlier this year, has completely dominated this award since it began in 1990, with no other player having won the award more than twice.

The 37-year-old has won 72 PGA tour events since turning pro in 1996 and is second on the all-time PGA event list.

The 14 time major winner last won won of golf’s four major events in 2008 by taking home the trophy at the U.S. Open.

Woods still has to win four to match the record of 18 set by golfing legend Jack Nicklaus.

Write for GiveMeSport! Sign-up to the GMS Writing Academy here:
DISCLAIMER: This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: