Sunderland have appointed Gus Poyet as manager on a two-year deal, it has been confirmed.

Poyet's initial challenge will be to secure Sunderland their first Premier League win of the season after they suffered a dreadful start under Italian Paolo Di Canio - who led them to safety last season after replacing Martin O'Neill.

Poyet's arrival marks their sixth permanent manager in five years. He brings with him Mauricio Taricco and Charlie Oatway from Brighton after parting with the Seagulls on rather sour terms.

Poyet's track record is rather impressive, with him having secured the League One title in the 10/11 season and guiding Brighton to the Championship playoffs at the end of last season prior to his departure from the club.

He made no secret of his interest in the job at the Stadium of Light, saying recently: "When I left Brighton, I thought I would be in England until at least January.

"Of course, I watch Chelsea, Arsenal, Manchester, but there was a group of teams who, if they didn't start well, I thought I could have a chance.

"I was watching Sunderland a lot. People were talking a lot about them in the summer because of Paolo and how many new players they had, so I have seen quite a lot of them." 

Owner Ellis Short, who took more than a fortnight to find the right man, said: "We analysed a wide range of candidates and believe that Gus' track record, experience, commitment and passion make him the right man to take us forward.

"We welcome him to Sunderland."

Poyet starts his spell in charge immediately with a derby clash with Newcastle, and a victory during that match would provide the perfect start to his reign at Sunderland.

Write for GiveMeSport! Sign-up to the GMS Writing Academy here:

DISCLAIMER: This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Premier League