Manchester United winger was fouled - former top referee

Published Add your comment

Manchester United were correctly awarded a penalty against Real Sociedad on Tuesday evening, according to Graham Poll, although the former top referee has branded Ashley Young as 'comical' for the way he went down under contact.

Young has caused another furore of sorts for his latest tumble in the penalty box, with the England winger having to endure yet more accusations of diving to earn his side a spot-kick.

The Manchester United winger appeared to go to ground very easily after brushing past Markel Bergara, but Poll claims the referee was right to give a penalty, which Robin van Persie failed to convert.

"Ashley Young was fouled by Markel Bergara last night and, by the letter of the law, referee Nicola Rizzoli was absolutely correct in awarding a penalty," Poll wrote in the Daily Mail.

"Yes, the contact by the defender was not massive and it certainly did not appear to warrant the dramatic fall which Young 'performed' but technically it was an foul."

Poll was, however, critical of Young's performance following the coming together with Bergara, even if the player was fouled.

He added: "Watching the replays, whilst Young's delayed fall was comical and unsavoury there is some contact and the level is irrelevant."

Manchester United, meanwhile, were unable to clinch all three points in Sociedad despite dominating proceedings, but still remain top of group A after four matches played, one point ahead of Bayer Leverkusen.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Ashley Young
Manchester United

Read more

back to top