David Moyes believes Ashley Young may not have dived to win the penalty awarded to Manchester United during Tuesday night's Champions League clash against Real Sociedad.
The Red Devils' manager revealed that he has not spoken to the winger about his on-pitch behaviour after he appeared to dive, not for the first time in his career, at Anoeta.
Speaking ahead of Sunday's Premier League match against Arsenal, Moyes gave a categorical "no" when asked by reporters whether he has spoken to the player about the alleged dive.
"The referee was two yards away from it and gave a penalty," he added. "If you need to talk to anybody, you should ask the referee. I didn't see an issue at all."
Robin van Persie missed from the spot after Young was judged by experienced Italian referee Nicola Rizzoli to have been brought down inside the box, as United were forced to settle for a 0-0 draw.
Moyes went on to agree that people are quick to jump to conclusions with Young because of similar incidents in the past.
"I do think a little bit of that," the Scot continued. "I also think the referee made the decision. If he had been a long way away, you could have maybe said what was it? But he was two yards away.
"He refereed the Champions League final so you are expecting him to be as qualified as anybody. If anything you should be more talking about the referee than the player."
The Manchester United manager went on to add: "The question should be 'did the referee get the decision right or not'. He was two yards away from it. For me, where I was, I definitely thought it was a penalty.
"Everybody can now stand back and watch it from TV. I was one of many who said I would definitely have retrospective action for diving because it would make the referees' job much better. But on the night, if you had said, could you get the referee any closer, I don't think you could."
The 0-0 draw in San Sebastian leaves United top of Group A, with games against Bayer Leverkusen and Shakhtar Donetsk left to play.