Golden Boy: Five best previous winners (1)

Published Add your comment

Juventus midfielder Paul Pogba has joined an esteemed list of players after being voted this year's Golden Boy, condemning Romelu Lukaku and Julian Draxler into second and third places, respectively.

The 20-year-old has flourished since his move to Turin in the summer transfer window of 2012, scoring 10 goals in 58 appearances for his club and establishing himself as a regular feature in France's senior side.

Given his rapid progression, Manchester United fans will be perplexed that the club did not do more to ensure the player remained at Old Trafford, but the Red Devils' loss has been the significant gain of Juventus.

Pogba's triumph makes him the second player operating in Italian football to have won the Golden Boy since its inception in 2003, with Alexandre Pato a previous winner, while Mario Balotelli clinched the award the year he left Italy.

With the Golden Boy now having produced 10 winners, GMS picks the five best players to have received the crown...

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Lionel Messi
Mario Balotelli
Francesc Fabregas

Article Comments

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again