The eight best players to never win the Champions League (1)

Published 4 Comments

Since it's rebranding in 1992, the Champions League has been won by some of the greatest players of the modern era.

The likes of Paolo Maldini, Zinedine Zidane and David Beckham can all look back on illustrious careers and memories of winning European football’s premier prize.

While Dutch maestro Clarence Seedorf has been fortunate enough to get his hands on the iconic trophy no fewer than four times during two decades in Europe, some of the world’s most talented individuals never had the chance to taste that success before hanging up their talented boots.

Here, GiveMeSport runs through the top eight players to have never won the UEFA Champions League during their glittering careers. 

Have we missed anyone out? Leave your comments below if you feel someone else deserves a place on the list, but remember, we've not included players who are still active as there's still time for the likes of Luis Suarez and Robin van Persie to get their hands on the famous old trophy.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:


Article Comments

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again