Former Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson has been nominated for the 2013 FIFA Coach of the Year award.

The Scot, who retired at the end of last season after winning a record 13th Premier League title with the Red Devils, is joined on the list of three by Jupp Heynckes and Jurgen Klopp.

Heynckes is the early favourite to win the prestigious individual accolade. The German coach, who also retired at the end of last season, signed off by helping Bayern Munich secure a historic treble.

Klopp, meanwhile, masterminded Borussia Dortmund's run to the Champions League final.

The Bundesliga outfit were eventually beaten 2-1 in the final at Wembley Stadium by Heynckes' Bayern, who also won the German league and cup titles last season.

Heynckes was succeeded in the summer at the Allianz Arena by ex-Barcelona coach Pep Guardiola, while Ferguson helped select David Moyes as his successor at Old Trafford.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: