Top 10: Midfielders of the 21st Century

Next Story

7. Andrea Pirlo

Andrea Pirlo plays the game at his own pace. He never looks rushed when in possession of a football, while plenty of markers have tried and failed to keep the Italian under lock and key.

The 34-year-old is one of the best passers of the modern era, while his set-piece delivery is also breathtaking.

Pirlo has never won the Ballon d'Or, but he has won a host of major honours, including the 2006 World Cup.

Paul Scholes
Zinedine Zidane
Next Story

Read more