The shake up in Formula 1 continues at a swift pace ahead of the 2014 season, with the FIA set to introduce a pole position trophy in 2014.

The award will be given out at the end of the year to the driver with the most pole positions across the entire campaign.

Sebastian Vettel would have won the trophy by a clear margin in 2013 after his nine pole positions, with Lewis Hamilton in second place on five.

FIA officials have explained that if two drivers are tied at the top with the same number of poles, it would come down to the number of second place starts, and so on.

The Article 6.7 of the 2014 F1 regulations states: “A trophy will be awarded to the driver who sets the most pole position during the championship season.

“If this procedure fails to produce a result, the FIA will nominate the winner according to criteria as it thinks fit.”

A new piece of silverware is just the latest in a raft of changes designed to make Formula 1 more appealing to mass audience, including awarding double points for the final race of the season and permanent driver numbers.

The double points decision was heavily criticised by four-time world champion Vettel, explaining it could ruin a teams’ hard work throughout a season.

"This is absurd and punishes those who have worked hard for a whole season," Vettel told BBC Sport.

"Drivers, fans and experts are horrified."

A shake-up in personnel, rules and standings promises to make the 2014 campaign one to keep a close eye on.

Write for GiveMeSport! Sign-up to the GMS Writing Academy here:

DISCLAIMER: This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: