Is this the worst double dive ever?

Published Add your comment

Weligton Oliveira, you naughty boy. The Malaga captain was guilty of a dirty double dive indeed during the weekend defeat to Atletico Madrid and, somehow, was able to earn a free-kick.

The 34-year-old found himself in a spot of bother approaching in his own byline and, with Atleti's Christian Rodriguez in pursuit, Weligton sent himself crashing to the turf.

This minimal contact was enough for the assistant referee, himself in close proximity, to raise his flag for a foul in favour of Malaga. But what followed was even more inexplicable.

After winning the free-kick he had desired Weligton clambered to his feet before pushing the ball into the abdomen of Rodriguez and diving to the floor again. It really has to be seen to be believed.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

La Liga

Article Comments

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again