The 2013 Ballon d'Or ceremony takes place in Zurich on Monday – and Real Madrid star Cristiano Ronaldo is expected to win.

The Portugal star has already won the award, back in 2008, and since then the most prestigious individual accolade in the sport has been claimed by Barcelona's Lionel Messi.

These are just two of football's greats who have won the award over the years.

However, many other brilliant players have missed out.

Here are ten of football's greats who have missed out on the grand prize.

#Ryan Giggs
#Thierry Henry
Flag article