Team Colombia, Neri-Yellowfluo and Bardiani-CSF Inox have received the last three wildcards for this years Giro d'Italia, according to Sky Sports.

These teams will join the 18 UCI World Tour teams that take part as well as the fourth wildcard Androni Giocattoli-Venezuela, who were chosen after winning the Copa Italia team competition last season.

The decision to give Neri-Yellowfluo may come as a shock to some as two of their riders failed a drugs test at last year's Giro. At this point the team were known as Vini Fantini-Selle Italia.

Several teams missed out the wildcard places including MTN-Qhubeka, IAM Cycling, Caja Rural, UnitedHealthcare and Wanty Group-Gobert .

The African squad, MTN-Qhubeka, won Milan-San Remo last year and will probably feel surprised that they were not chosen for the Giro this year.

The wildcard teams will be pushed to their limits with the likes of former Tour de France winner Cadel Evans focusing on winning the overall race after he said he would be focusing on the Giro and not taking part in the Tour de France in July.

In the last 10 years the Giro has seen eight Italian winners and there was a home win last year when the pink jersey went to Vincenzo Nibali with Australian Cadel Evans finishing third.

Previous winners have included Ryder Hesjedal, Ivan Basso, Alberto Contador and Dennis Menchov.

The Giro will take place between the 9th May and the 1st June and is always fiercely contested as it is one of the biggest cycling events of the year.

Write for GiveMeSport! Sign-up to the GMS Writing Academy here:

DISCLAIMER: This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: