Not all winners were as worthy as Ronaldo (©GettyImages).

Top five: Players never to win the Ballon d'or (1)

Published 1 Comments

As shiny new Ballon d'or trophy is moved onto its bespoke plinth at the Cristiano Ronaldo museum.

It is the second time the Real Madrid superstar has won the award, the first coming during his time with Manchester United, and ends four years of domination by Lionel Messi.

Ronaldo and Messi now share six Ballon d'Ors between them, but there are some greats of the past who were never able to even win it once.

GMS Academy member Adam Page picks out five such examples...

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

AC Milan

Article Comments

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again