Top five: Players never to win the Ballon d'or (4)

Published Add your comment

Paolo Maldini

Football News

The Ballon d'Or tends to go to the more glamorous players in world football. Players
like Michel Platini who are creative maestros or goal scoring machines like Marco Van Basten. Defenders and more defensively minded players are often overlooked.

In the competitions history only Fabio Cannavaro and Lothar Matthaus have won it playing in more defensive roles in the modern era.

One defender who should have won it though is Paolo Maldini. So reliable at the back
that he played up to his 40s Maldini won five European Cups in his career. That's enough to ask for his own personal copy of Big Ears.

That he never won the Ballon d'Or is a travesty.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

AC Milan

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again