3) Rebounding your own air-ball
Not so much a rule as a lack of one.
Travelling is a keenly contested issue in modern basketball with the likes of Dwyane Wade and Carmelo Anthony evading capture by officials in recent weeks.
But if players are really determined to get away with it they just have to be a little more creative.
If a player takes a shot during the game but sees the ball completely miss the basket, and backboard, but remain in play many of us would think he could not be the first player to catch the “rebound”.
But in fact, in all forms of the game, there is no rule that prevents this – I’m guessing, because the rulebook assumes those playing the game are at least slightly competent.
As long as it is a legitimate shot attempt the player is free to collect the ball after the air-shot.
Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: http://gms.to/writeforgms