Britain & Northern Ireland have selected their 35-strong squad to compete at the World Indoor championships in Poland on Friday, with James Dasoulo the big omission.

The sprinter tore his hamstring whilst competing in the Sainsbury's Indoor Grand Prix, which he won.

“Unfortunately it will keep me out of competing at the World Indoors,” said Dasaolu. “I am disappointed but this is going to be a big year and I don’t want to take any risk at all.

“I will now concentrate on being 100% fit for the outdoor competitions.”

Dasoulo was set to compete in the 60 metres, with his place now taken by Richard Kilty alongside the experienced Dwain Chambers.

UK indoor champion Katarina Johnson-Thompson will feature for Britain, but only in the long jump. The 21-year-old was set to compete in the Pentathlon, after she was forced to withdraw from qualifying due to illness.

Dwain Chambers, Andrew Osagie, Nigel Levine, Shara Proctor and Tiffany Porter are among some of the British athletes present who medalled at the last championships in Doha.

In an attempt to build for the future, the squad features a number of new athletes. Neil Black, British Athletics Performance Director said: “This is a relatively young team with a number of new faces taking individual places which is encouraging as we focus on long term development towards 2016 and 2017."

All 35 athletes taking part are listed below:


60m: Dwain Chambers, Richard Kilty

400m: Richard Buck, Nigel Levine

800m: Mukhtar Mohammed, Andrew Osagie

1500m: Lee Emanuel, Chris O Hare 

3000m: Andy Vernon, Jonathan Mellor

60m hurdles: Andrew Pozzi, William Sharman

4x400m: Daniel Awde, Michael Bingham, Jamie Bowie, Buck, Luke Lennon-Ford, Levine, Conrad Williams

High Jump: Robbie Grabarz, Tom Parsons

Pole Vault: Luke Cutts


60m: Sophie Papps, Asha Philip

400m: Margaret Adeoye, Shana Cox

800m: Laura Muir

1500m: Jemma Simpson

3000m: Eilish McColgan

4x400m: Adeoye, Eilidh Child, Cox, Christine Ohuruogu, Victoria Ohuruogu, Laura Wake

60m hurdles: Tiffany Porter

Pole Vault: Holly Bleasdale

Long Jump: Katarina Johnson-Thompson, Shara Proctor

Write for GiveMeSport! Sign-up to the GMS Writing Academy here:

DISCLAIMER: This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: