Kansas win 10th consecutive Conference Championship

Published Add your comment

The Kansas Jayhawks defeated Oklahoma Sooners  83-75 to clinch a share in their 10th consecutive Big 12 conference championship.

Five Kansas players ended the night on double figures with Naadir Tharpe topped them all with 19 points to realize his dream winning a championship in front of the home crowd in Kansas.

Tharpe said: "To be at home, to hear the fans and all that, it's a beautiful feeling. It just shows the tradition of Kansas and what it means to us."

Wayne Selden and Andrew Wiggins put up 15 points each and Joel Embiid had 12 points and 13 rebounds for the Number 5 Kansas.

Despite being down by more than one basket on multiple occasions Oklahoma refused to die and came back to within just a few points several times but were never able to get ahead of the home side.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:


Read more

back to top