Nominations for the Laureus Sports awards have been revealed with British long distance runner Mo Farah nominated in the World Sportsman of the Year section of the competition.

However, the 5,000m and 10,000m world champion & Olympic champions faces tough competition from the other hopefuls. Three-time winner and current holder Usain Bolt from Jamaica has been nominated and is in contention to win his fourth award.

Real Madrid player Cristiano Ronaldo takes his place on the nomination list after he took the Ballon d'Or trophy at Fifa's annual award ceremony.

Formula 1 champion Sebastian Vettel will be hoping his flawless season last year will bag him the award. LeBron James and Rafael Nadal rounding out the nomination list with the latter taking the US and French Open last season. 

The Sportswoman of the Year category features nominations from the Jamaican sprinter Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce and tennis player Serena Williams.

The three-time world pole vault champion from Russia Yelena Isinbayeva makes it on the shortlist along with Missy Franklin from the United States, the four-time Olympic medalist in swimming.

German goalkeeper Nadine Angerer and Slovenia's Tina Maze, who won two gold medals at the recent Winter Olympics in Sochi, complete the shortlist.

Other category's include team of the year which will see the Champions League winners Bayern Munich and the Formula 1 constructors champions Red Bull go up against the Brazil men's football team, and the All Blacks.

Basketball's Miami Heat and Bob and Mike Bryan round off the fierce competition.

Finally category's in World Breakthrough of the Year, Word Comeback of the Year, World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability and World Action Sportsperson of the Year will complete the ceremony. 

The award night will take place in Kuala Lumpur on Wednesday 26 March where the great and good of world sport will gather to reward those of the very best in the sporting world of 2013.

Nominations in full

World Sportsman of the Year:

Usain Bolt (Jamaica), Mo Farah (Great Britain), LeBron James (US), Rafael Nadal (Spain), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Sebastian Vettel (Germany)

World Sportswoman of the Year:

Nadine Angerer (Germany), Missy Franklin (US), Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (Jamaica), Yelena Isinbayeva (Russia), Tina Maze (Slovenia), Serena Williams (US)

World Team of the Year:

All Blacks (NZ), Bayern Munich (Germany), Brazil Men's Football Team, Bob & Mike Bryan (US), Miami Heat (US), Red Bull (Austria)

World Breakthrough of the Year:

Afghanistan Cricket Team, Marc Márquez (Spain), Raphael Holzdeppe (Germany), Nairo Quintana (Colombia), Justin Rose (UK), Adam Scott (Australia)

World Comeback of the Year:

Yelena Isinbayeva (Russia), Rafael Nadal (Spain), Oracle Team USA, Tony Parker (France), Ronaldinho (Brazil), Tiger Woods (US)

World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability:

Marie Bochet (France), Marcel Hug (Switzerland), Tatyana McFadden (US), Sophie Pascoe (NZ), Sarah Louise Rung (Norway), Olga Sviderska (Ukraine)

World Action Sportsperson of the Year:

Jamie Bestwick (UK), Bob Burnquist (Brazil), Mick Fanning (Australia), John John Florence (US), Maya Gabeira (Brazil), Shaun White (US)

Write for GiveMeSport! Sign-up to the GMS Writing Academy here:

DISCLAIMER: This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: