Mitchell Johnson won the award for Test Bowling performance of 2013 at this year's Cricinfo Awards.

There were lots of contenders for this category, not least from Johnson himself, who bowled England out almost single-handedly on multiple occasions during the Ashes.

The award was actually given for his performance on the docile Adelaide pitch which proved that his performance at Brisbane wasn't a fluke, and gave an indication of what was to come from the resurgent pace bowler.

Shikhar Dhawan won the Test match batting award for his stunning debut 187 against Australia. Fellow Indians Rohit Sharma and Mohammed Shami picked up the awards for best ODI Batting (209 vs.Australia) and Best Debutant respectively. While Shahid Afridi was awarded the ODI bowling accolade for his statistically astonishing 7-12 against the West Indies at Georgetown.

A special award was given to Sachin Tendulkar, who was heralded as 'Cricketer of the Generation', but his comments on T20 will strike a nerve with IPL organisers, especially with the God like following that Tendulkar commands.

When accepting his award he began, 'This speech will last no longer than four minutes, for this is the age of T20 cricket' before going on to say (in a tone suggesting that this phrase was anything but complimentary) 'T20 is the only format where you can bat for three balls and go back a hero'. Before heralding the importance of Test cricket, 'If the ICC wants Test cricket to survive, they need to organise more Test macthes'.

Write for GiveMeSport! Sign-up to the GMS Writing Academy here:

DISCLAIMER: This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: