Brisbane Roar sealed the Hyundai A-League Premiers' Plate with a 1-0 win over Melbourne Victory at Suncorp Stadium tonight.

The Queensland club have been formidable all season and marched into the Round 24 clash 10 points clear of their nearest rivals in the Western Sydney Wanderers. With such a comfortable gap and three fixtures remaining before the commencement of the finals campaign, the Roar were never likely to surrender their second domestic premiership.

Both sides had chances to find the net throughout the 90 minutes, but the 18,000-strong crowd had to wait until two minutes into stoppage to witness the opening goal.

But boy, it was worth the wait. Brisbane midfielder Luke Brattan rifled a fizzing low-drive from outside the area to secure the club’s first trophy since 2012.

Melbourne Victory, whose grip on second-place loosened courtesy of the late strike, will be bitterly disappointed to come away with nothing as Western Sydney now have a chance to leapfrog the 2009 champions when they host Perth Glory tomorrow evening.

Write for GiveMeSport! Sign-up to the GMS Writing Academy here:

DISCLAIMER: This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.