Badminton England has announced that Britain's first national badminton league will begin in October with a new format and rules.

The league will be made up of six different franchises which, despite it being a British league, are all based in England.

These consist of; Birmingham Lions (University of Birmingham), Team Derby (University of Derby), Loughborough Sport (University of Loughborough), UoN Badminton (University of Nottingham), Surrey Smashers (University of Surrey) and Milton Keynes.

Each franchise will be able to buy eight players during an auction which will be held at the start of June. 

These players will be of a very high talent with some being Team England members, some Olympians and others European and International players.

The newly formed league will begin on 6 October comprising of monthly matches which will run until April 2015. This will be followed by a one-day knockout competition in June 2015 which the top four teams will qualify for.

Team GB Olympic Silver medallist Nathan Roberts spoke to BBC Sport of his delight at the formation of the league: "It's fantastic news for teams, players and fans. Players are right behind the NBL, I just wish the NBL could have been around when I was playing."

Write for GiveMeSport! Sign-up to the GMS Writing Academy here:

DISCLAIMER: This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: