Yankees score bizarre run in win over Cubs

Published Add your comment

Usually in baseball, a run is scored after a hit or walk, and if an out is recorded when a run scores, its a sacrifice.

In this case, the Yankees sacrificed the out the out for a run, in a spot you might not have thought they would.

Its explained in the video above, but usually catcher's interference results in the runner being awarded first base, but because there was a runner on third, the Yankees had an option.

This is another good opportunity to dust off your baseball rule book, for one of the more obscure rulings in the MLB this season.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

New York Yankees
Chicago Cubs
New York Yankees

Article Comments

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again