Premier League: Young starlet of the year award

Next Story
Sturridge is favourite for the young player's award
Sturridge is favourite for the young player's award.

The respective shortlists for the PFA Player and Young player of the year awards have been announced, and as ever they have certainly sparked some debate.

Luis Suarez is the clear favourite to claim the main award, but the fact that David Silva was left off the shortlist altogether raised more than a few eyebrows

Despite that, it is the young player award that has caused the most controversy - although not for the reason you might expect. The make up of the six-man list is always likely to instigate debate, however some are starting to question the rules.

Some of the country's leading journalists have questioned the rule regarding qualification for the young player award, and whether it is fair to include players who are 23 at the start of the season.

We're inclined to agree that it is a bit strange to have players who are close to the peaks of their careers winning the young player award, so we're going to do something about it.

We've put together our own young player award shortlist with one key difference - only players who were 21 or under at the start of the season can be included. That means for a start that favourites for the PFA award Daniel Sturridge and Eden Hazard are immediately ruled out of the equation.

Intrigued? Click below to see what the shortlist should really look like...  

Tottenham Hotspur
Manchester United
Premier League
Next Story

Read more