Adam Yates sealed his win at the Tour of Turkey and Mark Cavendish claimed the final stage in what was an encouraging day for British cycling.

Orica–Green Edge's Yates was never under pressure and finished in the bunch in the regulation sprint stage. His closest rival, Cofidis' Rein Taaramae, lost four seconds to Yates when he ended up on the wrong side of a split in the peloton.

The win showcases the 21-year-old Brit's his remarkable talent and suggest that great things could be in store.

“On the first mountain stage, Taaramae was clearly the strongest, ” said Yates reflecting on his victory.

“The key moment of our race was when I won the next mountain stage and took the jersey off him. On the stage that I did win, the guys kept me out of the wind all day. I arrived at the bottom of the climb fresh, which was really important.

“Hopefully there is more like this to come.”

Omega Pharma–Quick Step's Cavendish finished the Tour like he started it to make up for disappointments in the most recent stages. Yesterday, the sprinter apologised to his teammates for not making the most out of their lead-out but there was no need to express regret after the last stage.

Once again, the Manxman's OPQS teammates provided him with an excellent lead-out and he left his main rivals Elia Viviani (Cannondale) and Andrea Guardini (Astana) in his wake when he was dropped off less than 200 metres from the finish line.


Tour of Turkey 2014, stage eight: Istanbul, 121km

1. Mark Cavendish (GBr) Omega Pharma-QuickStep

2. Elia Viviani (Ita) Cannondale

3. Andrea Guardini (Ita) Astana

4. Kris Boeckmans (Bel) Lotto-Belisol

5. Greg Henderson (NZl) Lotto-Belisol

6. Theo Bos (Ned) Belkin

7. Aldo Ino Ilesic (Slo) UnitedHealthcare

8. Michael Van Staeyen (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen

9. Kristian Sbaragli (Ita) MTN-Qhubeka

10. Ken Hanson (USA) Unitedhealthcare all same time

Overall classification after stage seven

1. Adam Yates (GBr) Orica-GreenEdge in 30-26-22

2. Rein Taaramae (Est) Cofidis at 5 sec

3. Romain Hardy (Fra) Cofidis at 39 secs

4. Davide Formolo (Ita) Cannondale at 40 secs

5. Davide Rebellin (Ita) CCC Polsat at 44 secs

6. Juan Jose Cobo (Spa) Torku at 45 secs

7. Kristijan Durasek (Cro) Lampre-Merida at 45 secs

8. Luis Leon Sanchez (Spa) Caja Rural at 51 secs

9. Adam Hansen (Aus) Lotto-Belisol Team at 58 secs

10. Enrico Barbin (Ita) Bardiani-CSF at 1-04

Write for GiveMeSport! Sign-up to the GMS Writing Academy here:

DISCLAIMER: This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: