Former South Africa coach Nick Mallett has name his World XV squad ahead of their game against the Springboks in Cape Town on June 7.

The World XV, which contains 23 players from eight different countries, boasts a total of 707 international caps.

Steffon Armitage, who has not played for England since winning his fifth cap in 2009, is the only Englishmen in the squad. He will be joined by players from New Zealand, Australia, France, Ireland, Georgia, South Africa, Samoa and Tonga.

Two uncapped South Africans have also been included, Castres' scrumhalf Rory Kockrott and Toulouse front rower Schalk Ferreira. 

World XV squad:


James O'Connor (London Irish, Australia), Drew Mitchell (Toulon, Australia), Hosea Gear (Toulouse, New Zealand), Sititiveni Sivivatu (Clermont, New Zealand), Aurelien Rougerie (Clermont, France), Rene Ranger (Montpelier, New Zealand), Matt Giteau (Toulon, Australia), François Trinh-Duc (Montpelier, France), Rory Kockott (Castres, South Africa) and Jimmy Cowan (Gloucester, New Zealand).


Steffon Armitage (Toulon, England, Alexandre Lapandry (Clermont, France), Roger Wilson (Ulster, Ireland), Mamuka Gorgodze (Montpellier, Georgia), Alistair Hargreaves (Saracens, South Africa), Joe Tekori (Toulouse, Samoa), Juandré Kruger (Racing Metro, South Africa), Schalk Brits (Saracens, South Africa), Andrew Hore (New Zealand), Schalk Ferreira (Toulouse, South Africa), Sona Taumololo (Perpignan, Tonga), BJ Botha (Munster, South Africa) and Carl Hayman (Toulon, New Zealand.


Write for GiveMeSport! Sign-up to the GMS Writing Academy here:

DISCLAIMER: This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Rugby Union