Rui Costa wins the Tour de Suisse for a third consecutive year after winning the final stage.

Costa's win means he becomes the first ever rider to win three consecutive Tour de Suisse events and is one win away from equalling Pasquale Fornara's record of winning the race four times.

Tony Martin was the overall race leader going into the last stage but the German failed to hold on to his lead and dropped to fourth in the overall standings.

Costa, Bauke Mollema and Mathias Frank attacked Martin with around 50km to go and there was nothing he could do about it.

It then became a race between the three of them for the overall lead with Frank attempting to put some distance between himself and the other riders, but nothing came of it.

Mollema crossed the finish line 14 seconds behind Costa to finish in second place but third place overall, with Frank ending the day in third place but moving into second in the general classification.

The win was Costa's first win of 2014 after he finished second in Paris-Nice and third in the Tour de Romandie and Volta ao Algarve.

With this win under his belt many see Costa as a possible Tour de France winner, with many believing he can challenge the likes of Chris Froome and Alberto Contador in a few weeks time.

Costa will have to be on top form if he is going to challenge for the Tour as the three week race will be much tougher than the Tour de Suisse.

Tour de Suisse 2014, stage nine: Martigny – Saas-Fe
1. Rui Costa (Por) Lampre-Merida in 4-13-14
2. Bauke Mollema (Ned) Belkin at 0-14
3. Mathias Frank (Swi) IAM Cycling at 0-24
4. Steve Morabito (Swi) BMC at 0-47
5. Oliver Zaugg (Swi) Tinkoff-Saxo st
6. Andre Cardoso (Por) Garmin-Sharp at 1-28
7. Jeremy Roy (Fra) FDJ at 1-41
8. Marcel Wyss (Swi) IAM Cycling at 1-48
9. Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Giant-Shimano at 1-48
10. Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Tinkoff-Saxo at 2-18

Final Overall Classification
1. Rui Costa (Por) Lampre-Merida
2. Mathias Frank (Swi) IAM Cycling at 0-33
3. Bauke Mollema (Ned) Belkin at 0-50
4. Tony Martin (Ger) Omega Pharma-QuickStep at 1-13
5. Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Giant-Shimano at 2-04
6. Steve Morabito (Swi) BMC Racing at 2-47
7. Davide Formolo (Ita) Cannondale at 3-00
8. Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Tinkoff-Saxo at 3-03
9. Javier Acevedo (Col) Garmin-Sharp at 3-20
10. Eros Capecchi (Ita) Movistar at 3-46

Write for GiveMeSport! Sign-up to the GMS Writing Academy here:

DISCLAIMER: This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: