Football

http://youtu.be/2R1AyIV-tQM

Did Ron Vlaar's World Cup penalty go in?

Published Add your comment

Football News
24/7

Ron Vlaar's penalty against Argentina in their semi-final shoot-out may have actually crossed the line it seems.

An online video, filmed by a fan, shows the ball spin back towards the goal after Vlaar's kick had been saved by Sergio Romero.

Television cameras showed Vlaar's penalty saved and cut to see Romero wheeling away with delight and then back to Vlaar showing his devastation at missing his kick.

Controversy?

But this fan video captures the penalty from a different angle and, although inconclusive, shows the ball rolling towards the net. It is hard to see weather the whole ball had crossed the line but it appears to spin back with speed towards the goal.

There was questions raised as to whether the Aston Villa defender had touched the ball after Romero's save rebounded back to him. However, it seems as though Vlaar managed to get his shoulder out of the way before it touched him.

Post-mortem

After the match Netherlands manager Louis van Gaal admitted that his players didn't want to take the side's first penalty during their shoot-out defeat to Argentina. Therefore he selected Vlaar who had a magnificent match marshalling the likes of Lionel Messi and Gonzalo Higuain.

Van Gaal, when asked of his reasons for picking Vlaar to take the first penalty, said "I thought he was the best player on the pitch so should have a lot of confidence. It just goes to show that it’s not easy scoring in a penalty shoot-out.”

But Van Gaal revealed that he had already asked a couple of players to take a kick before Vlaar was nominated.

"I asked two players to take the first kick before ending up with Vlaar," he said.

As Vlaar's penalty was the first of the shoot-out his miss gave an early advantage to Argentina who went on to progress to the final.

Counted

Rules state that the referee must wait for the ball to complete its path so if the ball did roll over the line, the goal has to be given.

Vlaar can be seen gesturing towards the referee who appears unmoved by his claims that it had crossed the line.

Do Netherlands have a case to suggest that the penalty crossed the line? Evidence appears inconclusive and begs the question weather the ref's goal-line technology was in use during the shoot-out.

Write for GiveMeSport! Sign-up to the GMS Writing Academy here: http://gms.to/1a2u3KU

DISCLAIMER: This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of GiveMeSport.com or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. GiveMeSport.com and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: http://gms.to/writeforgms

Topics:
World Cup
Football

Article Comments

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author

DISCLAIMER

This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of GiveMeSport.com or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. GiveMeSport.com and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again