Fran Halsall wins butterfly gold

Published Add your comment

Football News

England's Fran Halsall created history on the final day of the swimming programme at the 20th Commonwealth Games.

Halsall, who won 50m freestyle gold on Saturday, added the one-length butterfly title to that to become the first woman to ever achieve the sprint double in the history of the Commonwealths.

The 24-year-old had qualified for the final fastest but had to hold off pressure from Bahamian Adrianna Vanderpool-Wallace, to win in a new Games record time of 25.20 seconds.

Vanderpool-Wallace was second with Australia's Brittany Elmslie taking the bronze.

Related Articles

Chad le Clos storms to Commonwealth gold
Michael Jamieson eyes revenge for Ross Murdoch shock

More English success

It was England's second gold of the day in the pool, after Siobhan-Marie O'Connor who now has five medals in Glasgow, took the title in the 200m individual medley.

O'Connor, 18, stormed away from the field on the third length, eventually winning gold in a new British record time of 2:08.21. Australia's Alicia Coutts was second with Scotland's Hannah Miley taking the bronze.

Australian dominance

While England won two golds on the day, the night, and indeed the four days in the pool, belonged to Australia.

The Aussies added three more to their overnight total, taking their tally to 15 gold medals in the swimming programme.

James Magnussen was probably the star of the show. The 23-year-old has been the number one 100m freestyler in the world for the last four years, and added the Commonwealth title to the World Championships he already has.

The Missile powered home in a time of 48.11, spearheading an Aussie 1-2-3, with Cameron Mcevoy taking the silver ahead of Tommaso D'orsogna.

The final event of the night was the men's 200m freestyle relay. Despite a spirited race from host nation Scotland, there was nothing that could be done to stop Australia taking gold.

The Aussie quartet had been massive favourites heading into the event, and despite a British record from the Scottish team, they took the final gold of the swimming competition, with South Africa taking the bronze.

After four days of competition, Australia finished with 38 medals in the pool, 19 ahead of England, with Scotland back in third after winning nine medals.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: http://gms.to/writeforgms

Commonwealth Games

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of GiveMeSport.com or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. GiveMeSport.com and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport - Swimming Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again