The Football Association (FA) have today said they will take no further action against Ashley Barnes for his horror tackle on Chelsea midfielder Nemanja Matic.
Serbian Matic was sent off for his retaliation where he pushed Barnes to the ground after the Burnley forward had hit the Chelsea midfielder with a studs up challenge on his calf after Matic had played the ball.
The FA had tweeted that will take no further action against Barnes saying: "FA clarification on the incident involving Burnley's Ashley Barnes and Chelsea's Nemanja Matic. In the vast majority of challenges for the ball, no retrospective action is taken as the incident has been seen by the match officials."
Retrospective action introduced as deterrent for 'off the ball incidents' (e.g. kicks, stamps etc.) committed out of sight of officials. Whole game in agreement that, in vast majority of cases, match officials are best-placed to deal with incidents to avoid re-refereeing.
In line with this rationale, FA confirm no further action in relation to Ashley Barnes as incident was seen by the officials."
Article continues below
Incident seen by officials
According to the FA statement, referee Martin Atkinson had seen and dealt with the incident as it happened. Atkinson only gave a throw-in, no free-kick to Chelsea. Barnes was not booked for that tackle that could easily have ended Matic's career.
If the ref has seen the incident and not given a foul or red card, is he fit to referee in the English football? The same Martin Atkinson refereed a Champions League match between Schalke and Real Madrid during the week.
Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: http://gms.to/writeforgms