Rugby Union

World Rugby say Craig Joubert made a mistake in Scotland's World Cup defeat

Published Add your comment

Football News
24/7

Article continues below

World Rugby has admitted referee Craig Joubert blundered by awarding Australia the last-gasp penalty that sent Scotland crashing out of the World Cup.

The Wallabies clinched a dramatic 35-34 victory at Twickenham on Sunday when Bernard Foley was on target from the kicking tee with 43 seconds remaining.

World Rugby has said in a statement that having reviewed the incident, the "appropriate decision was a scrum to Australia for the original knock-on" and not a penalty.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: http://gms.to/writeforgms

Topics:
Rugby Union

Article Comments

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author

DISCLAIMER

This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of GiveMeSport.com or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. GiveMeSport.com and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport - Rugby Union Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again