Pique was irritated after some people claimed he should have been sent off against Villarreal earlier in the day. The 29-year-old also responded badly to a tweet from journalist Pedro J Ramirez which suggested the centre-back was fortunate to avoid a second yellow card at El Madrigal. Luis Enrique subbed Pique off in the 55th minute in a bid to prevent his side being reduced to 10 men.
So after watching referee Estrada Fernández award Luka Modric a soft penalty kick and then disallow what appeared to be a perfectly good goal by Sevilla’s Kevin Gameiro, Pique hit out on Twitter.
SUBMIT AN ARTICLE
Apply to become a GMS writer by signing up and submitting a 250-word test article: http://gms.to/haveyoursay5
Article continues below
“Y ahora qué?” Pique tweeted - or, in English, “And now what?”.
Pique’s tweet went viral. It has received over 11,000 retweets and 9,000 ‘favourites’ - which suggests plenty were in agreement with the Barcelona defender. However, it’s possible that some Real Madrid fans found his reaction funny and gave it a cheeky retweet for different reasons.
Article continues below
There’s no doubt Modric went over very easily inside the box and was fortunate that the penalty was awarded.
However, some - including Pique - might argue that justice prevailed as Ronaldo blazed the resulting penalty over the crossbar.
Gameiro was onside
As for Gameiro’s disallowed goal, replays showed the French striker was clearly onside when the ball was played. Real Madrid were 1-0 up at the time and who knows what would have happened had the goal been allowed to stand.
Real Madrid went on to win 4-0, with the goals coming from Karim Benzema, Ronaldo, Gareth Bale and Jesé.
Real Madrid close gap on top two
That result means Zinedine Zidane’s side were able to close the gap on second-place Atletico Madrid, who were beaten by Sporting Gijon on Saturday, to one point.
It also allowed them to close the gap on leaders Barcelona, who were held to a 2-2 draw by Villarreal.
Barca will be determined to get back to winning ways after the international break. Victory over Real Madrid on April 2 in the second Clasico of the season should wrap up another league title for the Catalan giants.
After the match, Enrique told reporters a 2-2 draw at El Madrigal was a good result for Barcelona.
"It is a positive result for us," he was quoted as saying by Sky Sports. "The best teams in the league have lost here, we've drawn. We were close to winning, but also could have lost.
"It is a positive round of fixtures for us. One less [to go] and one point closer to our objectives."
Will Barcelona beat Real Madrid after the international break? Have your say by leaving a comment below.
Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: http://gms.to/writeforgms