Lionel Messi took out Pepe with surprising challenge during El Clasico.

Lionel Messi took out Pepe during Barcelona v Real Madrid

Published 2 Comments

If you missed Lionel Messi’s foul on Pepe during El Clasico last Saturday, don’t worry - you’re not alone.

Even referee Alejandro Hernández failed to spot it.

But it happened. In the 55th minute, while Real Madrid were defending a set-piece, Messi charged into the Portuguese defender, bringing him to the ground with an uncharacteristic barge. (Scroll down this page to watch the video).


Want to become a GMS writer? Sign up now and submit a 250-word test article:

Article continues below

It seems clear this was a tactical foul by Messi, designed to take Pepe out of the equation to leave Barcelona’s taller guys - Gerard Pique and Sergio Busquets - a better chance of attacking the ball.

Barcelona won another corner, after Messi’s challenge went unpunished, from which Pique scored the opening goal of the match with a header.

Article continues below

Video: Messi's challenge on Pepe

Twitter reacts

Pepe, not being marked by Messi for the second corner, lost track of Pique, who headed into the ground past Keylor Navas.

However, goals from Karim Benzema and Cristiano Ronaldo earned Real Madrid a surprise 2-1 victory at the Camp Nou.

Pepe and Messi have history

Pepe and Messi have history in Clasicos.

Back in 2012, the hot-headed defender cynically stood on Messi’s hand while the Barcelona superstar was down on the ground.

Pepe wasn't punished for Messi stamp

Real Madrid did not punish Pepe for his stamp after Jose Mourinho unsurprisingly accepted the centre-back’s claim that it was an accident.

“Pepe apologised and that's enough for me,” the Portuguese coach was quoted as saying by ESPN after the match. “I’d only be angry if Pepe publicly said what he did was not intentional after admitting privately that it was. Those who think he's a liar should say so and assume the consequences.

“It's your right to call him a liar if you wish to, but you must assume the consequences. It would be an issue between you and the person you accuse of lying.”

Real Madrid's Portuguese coach Jose Mour

Pepe also made a statement, via Real Madrid’s official website, that it was an accident. However, he did issue an apology at the same time.

"I wish to say yesterday's incident with Leo Messi was unintentional, but I nevertheless want to apologise to him if he was offended because all I do is defend my team and this institution,” he was quoted as saying by the Guardian. “I give my heart and soul, and the thought of hurting a colleague has never entered my mind."


Usually it’s Pepe fouling Messi, so it was a little strange - refreshing even - to see the opposite happen during the most recent Clasico.

Real Madrid CF v FC Barcelona - La Liga

Hopefully for Messi’s sake, Pepe won’t be hungry to exact revenge when they meet again next season.

What do you make of Messi’s challenge on Pepe? Have your say by leaving a comment below.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

La Liga
Real Madrid
Cristiano Ronaldo
Lionel Messi

Article Comments

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again