Jamie Vardy also ‘dived’ to win a penalty against Manchester United in 2014.

Jamie Vardy also ‘dived’ to win a penalty against Manchester United in 2014

Published 8 Comments

Jamie Vardy is currently waiting anxiously to discover if his one-game ban will be extended by one match.

The Leicester City striker was sent off against West Ham on Sunday afternoon by referee Jon Moss after picking up two yellow cards - the second of which was issued following an alleged dive.

The debate over whether Vardy took a dive or was fouled continues to rage on, but does this video from last season prove that the England international has history when it comes to making the most of contact inside the box?


Apply to become a GMS writer by signing up and submitting a 250-word test article:

Article continues below

As pointed out by Samuel Luckhurst of the Manchester Evening News, Vardy was once involved in a similar incident against Manchester United at the King Power Stadium.

The livewire striker barged over Rafael, who attempted to make a recovery challenge and was shocked to see Vardy fall to the floor.

Article continues below

Video: Vardy's 'dive' v Man Utd

Video: Vardy's 'dive' v West Ham

The strikers’ union would argue that Vardy was simply being smart by waiting for the inevitable contact - regardless of how much there actually was - and going to ground to win the spot-kick.

But is this really a penalty?

As Luckhurst argues in his tweet: “Vardy's dive [on Sunday] similar to one vs #mufc. Fouls an opponent yet pretends to be fouled.”

Some agreed Vardy had dived...

Many, including the referee, agreed that Vardy had exaggerated the contact with West Ham’s Angelo Ogbonna and deserved a second yellow card.

Howard Webb, the former referee who oversaw the 2010 World Cup and Champions League finals, was one of the many who believes Moss was spot on with this particular decision.

Soccerex - Manchester: Day Four

“This was a dive and it takes courage to send off one of the star players of the champions-elect, especially when most of the country is willing them to win the title,” Webb was quoted as saying by The Times. “Vardy put his right leg across West Ham’s Angelo Ogbonna and threw his left leg out behind him to create the entanglement.

“Ogbonna knows nothing about it. One minute he is running, the next he has Vardy’s leg touching his. It’s different from if a defender puts his leg across your path and you go over it. This was instigated by Vardy and Moss was 100 per cent correct to give him a second yellow card.”

Others did not...

However, equally as many believed Moss got the decision wrong, arguing that Vardy had been fouled by the Italian defender.

Match of the Day host and Leicester City fan, Gary Lineker, tweeted: “That is a diabolical decision. Penalty all day long.”

While the Independent’s chief football correspondent, Mark Ogden, tweeted: “Big decision by Jon Moss to send off Vardy for diving. Looked like contact and a penalty.”

If found guilty of misconduct over his reaction following the red card, Vardy could miss Leicester’s next away match against Manchester United on May 1, as well as the Foxes’ fixture against Swansea City next week.

Is Jamie Vardy a diver? Have your say by leaving a comment below.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Leicester City
Manchester United
England Football
Premier League

Article Comments

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again