Lionel Messi booked for dive in Copa America final v Chile.

Lionel Messi booked for dive in Copa America final v Chile

Published 6 Comments

Lionel Messi endured what might have been the worst night of his entire career on Sunday.

The five-time Ballon d’Or winner suffered yet another gut-wrenching final with Argentina - his third in as many years, following the disappointments at the 2014 World Cup and 2015 Copa America - this time against Chile in the special centenary edition of the Copa America.

Messi not only missed a penalty in the shoot-out but was also booked in the first half for a cynical dive. (Scroll down this page to watch the video).


Want to become a GMS writer? Sign up now and submit a 250-word test article:

Article continues below

The Barcelona superstar went around José Fuenzalida and appeared to deliberately attempt to deceive Heber Lopes, the Brazilian referee in charge of the match.

However, Lopes wasn’t convinced that any contact had been made and subsequently brandished the yellow card in Messi’s direction.

Article continues below

Video: Messi's dive v Chile

Messi heartbroken after defeat

Messi has a reputation for staying on his feet but it’s possible the occasion may have got to him at the MetLife Stadium in New Jersey.

The 29-year-old was desperate to win his first major title with Argentina - not including the 2008 Olympic gold medal he won in Beijing - and was visibly heartbroken following his team’s defeat on penalties.

Indeed, so demoralised was Messi after the loss that he swiftly announced his decision to quit international football.

Argentina v Chile: Championship - Copa America Centenario

"It's been four finals, I tried,” Messi was quoted as saying BBC Sport, the fourth final being the 2007 Copa America. “It was the thing I wanted the most, but I couldn't get it, so I think it's over," he added.

"I think this is best for everyone. First of all for me, and then for everyone. I think there's a lot of people who want this, who obviously are not satisfied, as we are not satisfied reaching a final and not winning it.

"It's very hard, but the decision is taken. Now I will not try more and there will be no going back."

No guarantee Messi will reverse his decision

Football fans everywhere will be hoping that Messi, arguably the greatest footballer of all time, will reverse his decision in time for the 2018 World Cup finals in Russia.

But there’s no guarantee that will happen.

Argentina v Chile: Championship - Copa America Centenario

Will Messi want to put himself through yet more heartache in the future?

Is Lionel Messi right to quit international football? Have your say by leaving a comment below.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

La Liga
UEFA Champions League
Argentina Football
Lionel Messi

Article Comments

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again