Gennady Golovkin may have defeated Kell Brook to retain his status as the best pound-for-pound fighter in the world, but Brook was actually ahead when the first was stopped.
GGG was his usual awesome self in the ring and many assumed that he was leading on the scorecards when Brook's trainer threw in the towel after five rounds.
According to The Sun, however, Brook was actually ahead and one judge even had the Sheffield-born fighter up by two rounds when he was pulled out of the contest.
Canadian judge Benoit Rousell credited the first, second, and fourth rounds to Brook, only giving GGG the nod in the third round. On his card, Brook was leading 39-37 at the point of the stoppage.
The other two judges, Craig Metcalf and Guido Cavalieri, both had the fighters splitting the rounds with their cards having the boxers tied at 38-38.
All of this will probably be of little consolation to Brook, who left the world middleweight title clash with a broken eye socket.
Even if trainer Dominic Ingle had known Brook was ahead, he still would have had to throw in the towel given the beating his fighter had taken with only a third of the bout completed.
It goes to show once again that the punching power of GGG is unlike anything we have seen in recent memory. Even when he is down on the scorecards, his offense is breaking down his opponent and one flurry of punches can do enough damage to give him victory in an instant.
Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: http://gms.to/writeforgms