Football

Ramos conceded another penalty.

Sergio Ramos play-acts after conceding penalty against Villarreal

Published 1 Comments

Football News
24/7

Early league leaders Real Madrid were looking to extend the gap at the top of the table as they welcomed Villarreal to the Santiago Bernabeu on Wednesday night.

Zinedine Zidane and his men were aiming to break Pep Guardiola's La Liga record of 16 consecutive victories which the current Manchester City boss achieved during his trophy-laden spell with Barcelona.

The biggest moment of the first-half came right at the end when Sergio Ramos was adjudged to have handled the ball inside the penalty area and, yet again, the Real captain pulled out some playacting in order to escape the punishment.

SIGN UP NOW

Do YOU want to be a writer for GiveMeSport? Sign up now and submit a 250-word test article: http://gms.to/haveyoursay4

Article continues below

Just a few days after he avoided a red card at Espanyol by pretending the ball struck his face when it obviously hadn't, Ramos tried to do a similar thing as Los Blancos chased a historical win.

Whether or not the 30-year-old was in the box is up for debate but, as you can see in the video below, Manu Trigueros' strike clearly hit the Spaniard's arm, despite his best efforts to fool the referee into thinking otherwise:

Article continues below

The penalty was awarded, Ramos received a yellow card for the incident, and, again in the video above, Villarreal captain Bruno Soriano produced a fantastic piece of skill from the spot-kick to give his side the lead at the interval.

The 32-year-old defensive midfielder, who earned a place in Spain's Euro 2016 squad following a fantastic 2015-16 campaign, kept his cool in a hostile atmosphere and showed both personality and technical ability to successfully pull of a 'Panenka'.

FBL-ESP-LIGA-REALMADRID-VILLARREAL

Ramos partially made up for his error three minutes into the second half when he got Madrid back on level terms with a trademark header from a James Rodriguez corner, but the game ended 1-1.

His equaliser made him the only player to have conceded a penalty and scored a goal in the same game this season on two different occasions. It also made him the club's top scorer this term, with three goals in all competitions so far.

What do YOU make of Ramos' playacting? Leave YOUR opinion in the comments box below!

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: http://gms.to/writeforgms

Topics:
Zinedine Zidane
Gareth Bale
La Liga
Real Madrid
Football
Cristiano Ronaldo
Barcelona

Article Comments

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author

DISCLAIMER

This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of GiveMeSport.com or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. GiveMeSport.com and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again