American tennis star Jack Sock received plaudits for his sportsmanship on Thursday when he faced Richard Gasquet during the third round of the Paris Masters.
The incident took place during the first set, where the world number 24 was leading 1-5 and the game was tied 40-40.
Gasquet served an untouchable shot that was called out by the line judge, but the Frenchman’s counterpart acknowledged the ball was in and conceded the point immediately.
SUBMIT AN ARTICLE
Apply to become a GMS writer by signing up and submitting a 250-word test article: http://gms.to/haveyoursay5
The gesture garnered tremendous round of applause from the Parisian crowd, and it was also appreciated by Gasquet himself.
Sock ultimately won the match 6-2 3-6 7-5, and will face John Isner next in the French capital for a place in the penultimate round of the tournament.
This is not the first time fans across the world have witnessed such amazing level of sportsmanship from Sock, as during the Hopman Cup in January this year, he showed the same reaction towards then opponent Lleyton Hewitt.
The Australian ace’s shot was similarly called out, but he was advised by Sock to challenge the decision as he seemed sure the ball was actually in.
Hewitt looked surprised and shocked with the turn of events and ultimately contested the call and the following review revealed the American was correct.
You can see Sock giving Gasquet the point in the video below.
It is uncommon these days to see such brilliant actions on display, not only on one occasion, but twice from the same player.
These instances truly bring to the fore the level of respect and commitment Sock has for tennis, and for his opponents.
Known as the ‘Ironman’, the 24-year-old still has the prime years ahead of him, and if he can further improve his game on the court, we will surely see the emergence of a new star in the years to come.
Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: http://gms.to/writeforgms