Football

Bosingwa escapes sanction

Published Add your comment

The Football Association have confirmed no action will be taken against Jose Bosingwa over his kick at Liverpool substitute Yossi Benayoun during Chelsea's 2-0 defeat at Anfield on Sunday.

Referee Mike Riley, who had earlier sent off Frank Lampard in controversial circumstances, admitted that, while he had not seen Bosingwa's lunge, it had been spotted by assistant Mo Matadar.

The officials did not punish Bosingwa and, under FIFA law, the FA are prohibited from taking disciplinary action when incidents are seen at the time by the match officials.

The FA's decision is a major boost for Chelsea and Bosingwa, who had swiftly apologised for his actions.

"I apologise for what I did and it was never my intention to hurt him," said Bosingwa. "I know it was wrong and I apologise.

"It's always frustrating to lose big games and especially in this way. It was important to get points and not let Manchester United go. That didn't happen, so we are upset, but now we have to think about the next game."

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: http://gms.to/writeforgms

Topics:
Yossi Benayoun
Football
Chelsea
Premier League
Manchester United
Jose Bosingwa
Liverpool

Article Comments

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author

DISCLAIMER

This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of GiveMeSport.com or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. GiveMeSport.com and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again