Preston edge five-goal thriller

Next Story

Preston moved into fourth spot with an entertaining 3-2 win over Ipswich in their Coca-Cola Championship encounter.

Ipswich got off to the worst possible start as Alex Bruce fouled Stephen Elliott in the area and Callum Davidson drilled home the resulting penalty in the sixth minute.

The visitors equalised thanks to a brilliant goal by Tommy Miller but Jon Parkin headed home four minutes from the break to restore Preston's advantage. And Stephen Elliott extended their lead on the hour mark before Miller grabbed another stunner two minutes later with a wonderful free-kick.

Marcus Tudgay and Leon Clarke both claimed doubles as Sheffield Wednesday blew a massive hole in Burnley's Championship play-off aspirations with a 4-2 victory.

Tudgay found the net with a clinical 19th-minute opener before Chris McCann headed the Clarets level in the 53rd minute - but Wednesday ran riot thereafter.

Tudgay - who also netted a brace in the Owls' thumping 4-1 win over Burnley at Hillsborough on the opening day of the season - claimed his second goal in the 69th minute with another good finish.

Clarke then took centre stage with two fine left-footed strikes to ensure substitute Chris Eagles' 85th-minute free-kick was no more than consolation for the Clarets.

Rock-bottom Charlton took a vital point from a 1-1 draw at Swansea who now lie just a point outside the play-off spots.

Nathan Dyer drilled home a low shot three minutes from the break to give the hosts the lead but Nick Bailey levelled matters 10 minutes after the interval with his third goal in four matches.

Meanwhile, Norwich are now three points from safety after they lost 2-1 at home to Coventry, while Barnsley moved into 18th with a 2-1 triumph at home to Queens Park Rangers and Watford also moved up a place thanks to a 2-0 win over Crystal Palace.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Norwich City
Ipswich Town
Leon Clarke
Sheffield Wednesday
Jon Parkin
Tommy Miller
Alex Bruce
Preston North End
Chris Eagles
Crystal Palace
Nathan Dyer
Stephen Elliott
Coventry City
Chris McCann
Callum Davidson
Nick Bailey
Charlton Athletic
Swansea City
Marcus Tudgay
Next Story

Read more