Football

Ronaldo: Final ref got it wrong

Ronaldo: Final ref got it wrong (©PAphotos)
Ronaldo: Final ref got it wrong (©PAphotos).

Cristiano Ronaldo has claimed referee Chris Foy was wrong to book him for diving during the Carling Cup Final.

For the second weekend running, Ronaldo was cautioned for hitting the ground, this time under Ledley King's challenge.

"If you see the replay you will see that their player kicked me in the foot," said Ronaldo. "The referee did not make the right decision then and he didn't give me a lot, all match, I don't know why. But in every game, the referees decision has to be respected."

It did not matter too much as Manchester United went on to win the trophy on penalties, with Ronaldo erasing the memory of his miss in Moscow by blasting home one of the Red Devils' four successful efforts.

But it seems officials are now taking a hard-line approach with the world player of the year when he goes down in the box.

Ronaldo had no hesitation in taking a penalty - United's third - even though missed against Chelsea in the Luzhniki Stadium.

And after a brief game of bluff with Tottenham keeper Heurelho Gomes, the Portugal superstar came out on top.

"It's always important to choose a side and put the ball there," he said. "After Moscow I thought the goalkeeper would think I put it in the same corner but I changed."

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Topics:
Tottenham Hotspur
Football
Ledley King
League Cup
Chelsea
Premier League
Heurelho Gomes
Manchester United
Cristiano Ronaldo

Article Comments

Trending

Read more

;