Wolves extend lead with long-awaited win

Next Story

Wolves extended their lead at the top of the Coca-Cola Championship after Sylvan Ebanks-Blake held his nerve to convert a penalty and claim a 1-0 win at Crystal Palace.

Reading leapfrogged Birmingham into second after coming from behind to win 2-1 at Sheffield Wednesday.

The hosts took the lead on the stroke of half-time when Sean McAllister volleyed home Leon Clarke's lay-off from 12 yards. The Royals pulled level when an unmarked Kevin Doyle headed in in the 56th minute before Shane Long got the winner with nine minutes to go.

Preston stay fourth despite a 2-1 defeat at Nottingham Forest thanks to Rob Earnshaw's double.

Cardiff drew level on points with the Lilywhites after a 3-1 home win over 10-man Barnsley as Joe Ledley, Michael Chopra and Peter Whittingham netted.

Chris Porter marked his full home debut with his first goals for Derby but the Rams squandered a 2-0 lead to draw 2-2 with promotion chasing Swansea. Angel Rangel pulled one back and Swansea then levelled through Gorka Pintado with three minutes to go.

Burnley are just one place outside the play-offs after a 1-0 win at Blackpool thanks to Christian Kalvenes' left-footed shot from the six-yard box with five minutes to go.

Darel Russell scored the only goal as relegation-threatened Norwich ended a run of seven championship matches without a win at faltering QPR.

Doncaster's fine run continued but the future looks bleak for Charlton after Rovers won 2-1 at The Valley thanks to goals from James Coppinger and a Brian Stock penalty. Nick Bailey netted for the Addicks.

Southampton remain in the relegation zone but they had a 3-0 win at Ipswich while Paul Gallagher scored twice as Plymouth beat Watford 2-1, Tommy Smith scoring for the Hornets.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Norwich City
James Coppinger
Doncaster Rovers
Ipswich Town
Leon Clarke
Sheffield Wednesday
Christian Kalvenes
Peter Whittingham
Brian Stock
Cardiff City
Kevin Doyle
Preston North End
Paul Gallagher
Derby County
Chris Porter
Gorka Pintado
Darel Russell
Tommy Smith
Michael Chopra
Nottingham Forest
Joe Ledley
Queens Park Rangers
Shane Long
Sean McAllister
Tommy Smith
Crystal Palace
Wolverhampton Wanderers
Plymouth Argyle
Sylvan Ebanks-Blake
Nick Bailey
Charlton Athletic
Angel Rangel
Swansea City
Next Story

Read more