Keylor Navas produced heroic match-winning save against Real Betis

Published Add your comment

Football News

Real Madrid goalkeeper Keylor Navas certainly won’t forget Sunday’s La Liga clash against Real Betis in a hurry.

The Costa Rica international committed arguably the biggest blunder of his career on the 24th minute when he somehow allowed Antonio Sanabria’s shot to squirm under him.

However, he was fortunate to still be on the pitch at this point. Five minutes earlier, Navas took out Betis midfielder Darko Brasanac just outside his penalty area. That referee Antonio Mateu opted against booking the 30-year-old raised the eyebrows of many supporters.

Cristiano Ronaldo equalised for Los Blancos just before half-time as Zinedine Zidane’s men went into the break level.

Then Sergio Ramos - who else? - scored an 81st minute header to send the Bernabeu crowd crazy.

Navas makes amends for his blunder - in style

However, Betis were rather unfortunate to leave Madrid without a point.

Indeed, if it wasn’t for Navas, they probably would have sealed a late draw.

Why? Because in the 91st minute of the match, Madrid’s No. 1 made amends for his earlier howler with a quite magnificent save from the man who’d earlier embarrassed him: Sanabria.

When the Paraguayan striker connected with Riza Durmisi’s cross, it looked a certain goal.

Sanabria’s header had pace, power and accuracy. Navas, in order to prevent the equaliser from being scored, needed to produce something special. Something heroic.

And he did just that.

Navas sprang off his line and brilliantly saved his side all three points with a wonderful two-handed save.

Video: Navas's match-winning save v Betis

Watch it here...

This was a match-winning save that was equally as important as Ramos’s headed goal 10 minutes earlier.

Zidane praises Navas after the match

After the game, Navas was praised by Zidane for the character he showed after his first-half gaffe.

"At the interval I didn't say anything to him," the French coach was quoted as saying in his post-match press conference by Marca. "It is part of the game, he can make a mistake like everyone else.

"At the end, he saved the game for us and I, like all of the players, are still in support of Keylor.”

Zidane, however, refused to comment on whether Navas deserved a red card for his foul on Brasanac.

"I didn't see the replays [for Navas' potential red card],” the Madrid boss added, “I can't say anything about it."

For those who haven’t seen the foul, check it out here…

And here’s his blunder from earlier in the match…

All’s well that ends well, eh Keylor?

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Keylor Navas
La Liga
Real Madrid
Karim Benzema
Zinedine Zidane
Gareth Bale

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again