Byrne seals play-off spot for Iron

Published Add your comment

Football News

Cliff Byrne played a captain's role for Scunthorpe as they dramatically clinched a Coca-Cola League One play-off place, while Crewe and Northampton were relegated after defeats.

Tranmere knew only a win against Scunthorpe at Glanford Park would see them leapfrog their rivals into sixth and they looked set to achieve the desired result thanks to Craig Curran's 39th-minute goal.

But Byrne popped up to head in the equaliser two minutes from time after Gareth Edds had been sent off.

Scunthorpe will face Milton Keynes Dons in the play-off semi-finals, the Dons beating already-relegated Hereford 1-0 thanks to Luke Howell (85), while Leeds meet Millwall in the other two-legged clash.

United condemned Northampton to relegation by beating the Cobblers 3-0 at Elland Road, Luciano Becchio (44), the prolific Jermaine Beckford (59) and Robert Snodgrass (90) netting.

Crewe always looked unlikely to escape the drop with champions Leicester their final-day opponents, and the Foxes ended the season in style with a 3-0 win.

Bruno Berner (56), Lloyd Dyer (66) and Matty Fryatt (68) hammered the nails into Crewe's coffin, although as it turned out even a win would not have been enough to keep them up.

Carlisle were the big winners on the day as brilliant goals from Graham Kavanagh (7) and Paul Thirlwell (50) ensured United, who started the match in the bottom three, beat Millwall 2-0.

Brighton guaranteed their safety with a 1-0 win over Stockport, veteran Nicky Forster netting the only goal 17 minutes from time, while Hartlepool also escaped despite a 4-1 defeat by Bristol Rovers.

Jo Kuffour (3) and Darryl Duffy (5) set Pools' nerves jangling, and Rickie Lambert (46) and Aaron Lescott (48) repeated the trick at the start of the second half after Daniel Nardiello had pulled one back (28).

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Darryl Duffy
Leicester City
Luke Howell
Crewe Alexandra
Bristol Rovers
Milton Keynes Dons
Northampton Town
Daniel Nardiello
Aaron Lescott
Jo Kuffour
Luke Howell
Hartlepool United
Scunthorpe United
League One
Rickie Lambert
Lloyd Dyer
Hereford United
Nicky Forster
Paul Thirlwell
Bruno Berner
Matty Fryatt
Craig Curran
Graham Kavanagh
Carlisle United
Jermaine Beckford
Robert Snodgrass
Leeds United
Luciano Becchio
Tranmere Rovers
Gareth Edds
Cliff Byrne
Brighton & Hove Albion

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again