Canaries go down with a whimper

Published Add your comment

Football News

Norwich will be playing in the third tier of English football for the first time since 1960 after they were humiliated 4-2 at Charlton.

The hosts, already relegated, marked their last match in the Championship in style and they were three goals to the good by the half-hour mark thanks to Nick Bailey's opener and a brace from Deon Burton.

Norwich gave themselves a faint lifeline through Alan Lee in first-half stoppage time but things went from bad to worse minutes after the interval when Burton completed his hat-trick. Sammy Clingan's free-kick reduced the deficit once more but it was too little too late.

The result ensured Barnsley would stay up regardless of their score at Plymouth, but the Tykes triumphed 2-1 to make sure of their Championship status.

Adam Hammill levelled matters after Gary Sawyer's opener and Jamal Campbell-Ryce fired the visitors into the lead shortly after the interval.

Elsewhere, already-relegated Southampton's miserable season continued as they fell to a 3-1 defeat at Nottingham Forest with Luke Chambers, Joe Garner and Robert Earnshaw grabbing the goals for the hosts following Bradley Wright-Phillips' opener.

Roy Keane enjoyed his first home game in charge with his second win in as many games.

Giovani dos Santos and Pablo Counago's first-half goals gave Ipswich a 2-1 win over Coventry, with Clinton Morrison pulling one back late on.

Meanwhile, Blackpool beat Swansea 1-0 thanks to Dudley Campbell's 13th-minute goal and Watford triumphed 3-1 over Derby with a brace from former Rams striker Grzegorz Rasiak and one from Jobi McAnuff in the first-half, before John Eustace's late consolation.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Norwich City
Ipswich Town
Alan Lee
Jamal Campbell-Ryce
Grzegorz Rasiak
John Eustace
Robert Earnshaw
Joe Garner
Derby County
Gary Sawyer
Luke Chambers
Nottingham Forest
Roy Keane
Clinton Morrison
Dudley Campbell
Jobi McAnuff
Coventry City
Pablo Counago
Plymouth Argyle
Nick Bailey
Charlton Athletic
Swansea City
Sammy Clingan
Adam Hammill
Bradley Wright-Phillips
Deon Burton

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again