Russell Westbrook could start award season with 'win' from Shaqtin a Fool

Oklahoma City Thunder v Phoenix Suns

Award season should be lucrative for Russell Westbrook.

He's a first-team All-NBA lock.

And even James Harden-for-MVP supporters will admit that Westbrook is finishing the season with a flurry that deserves at least a tip of the cap.

Westbrook is also up for another award that's usually reserved for JaVale McGee, courtesy of Shaquille O'Neal and the TNT crew.

Shaq's regular Shaqtin a Fool segment is a highlight package of bloopers. On Monday night, Shaq took viewers through the top 5 Shaqtin a Fool moments of the regular season.

As Shaq, Ernie, Kenny and Charles discussed awkwardly before the highlights ran, there's no more JaVale McGee in the blooper reel, because of the weird Shaq-feud the pair had this season.

Here's the clip from Inside the NBA.

Shaq gives a rundown of the plays, which includes Marcus Smart of the Boston Celtics riding teammate Isaiah Thomas after trying to chase down an opponent; Kemba Walker of the Charlotte Hornets celebrating a bit too early on a jump shot; J.R. Smith of the Cleveland Cavaliers high-fiving Jason Terry during game action, leading to an open layup; and Sam Dekker of the Houston Rockets eating the ball after tripping during a fast-break opportunity.

Westbrook of the Oklahoma City Thunder was the fifth nominee, as his five-step walk up the court against the Golden State Warriors was pretty memorable.

The award has been a very "prestigious" one since its inception in 2011-12.

That year, McGee won his first honor in an All-JaVale vote.

Here was the winning play as McGee, then of the Washington Wizards, tried to get back quickly on defense - while his team still had the ball.

McGee made it two straight "titles" in 2012-13 with some amazing plays for the Denver Nuggets.

Kendrick Perkins of the Oklahoma City Thunder won in 2013-14 for a plethora of plays, including getting dunked on by Blake Griffin of the Los Angeles Clippers.

Otto Porter of the Washington Wizards won in 2014-15 for falling asleep on defense, among other MVP-like highlights. Here's the winning clip:

In 2015-16, it was James Harden of the Houston Rockets who took home the Shaq-ware. Harden was the first All-Star to win Shaqtin's MVP.

You can apparently vote for this year's Shaqtin a Fool winner here.

My vote is for Westbrook. That guy has had a season for the ages, and should be rewarded handsomely.

It all starts with a trip into Shaqtin a Fool lore.

News Now - Sport News