Boston Celtics to give retiring Paul Pierce their highest honor

Boston Celtics' Paul Pierce celebrates w

Paul Pierce's illustrious career came to an end on Sunday as the Los Angeles Clippers lost 104-91 in Game 7 of their first round series against the Utah Jazz.

The Truth racked up quite a career in 19 seasons, most of which came for the Boston Celtics where he piled on all sorts of memorable moments in green.

The Celtics will be returning the favor soon with their highest honor.

Team CEO Wyc Grousbeck was on Boston radio Monday morning and confirmed to hosts Toucher and Rich that the team planned to retire Pierce's jersey.

Pierce's 34 will go to the rafters at TD Garden with some of the game's other all-time greats.

Here's a list of the other legendary players and dignitaries who have received the honor from the hallowed Boston franchise: Robert Parish (00), Walter Brown (1), Red Auerbach (2), Dennis Johnson (3), Bill Russell (6), JoJo White (10), Bob Cousy (14), Tom Heinsohn (15), Tom Sanders (16), John Havlicek (17), Jim Loscuttoff ("LOSCY" was retired but not his number 18, which was kept active for Dave Cowens), Cowens (18), Don Nelson (19), Bill Sharman (21), Ed Macauley (22), Frank Ramsey (23), Sam Jones (24), KC Jones (25), Cedric Maxwell (31), Kevin McHale (32), Larry Bird (33), Reggie Lewis (35) and announcer Johnny Most's microphone.

Phoenix Suns v Boston Celtics

The honor for Pierce is well-deserved (although some of the folks on that list could be worth another look...).

The Truth is second all-time in points as a Boston player with 24,021 points, behind just Havlicek, who scored 26,395. Pierce was third in games played as a Celtic with 1,102 (Havlicek leads with 1,270 games and Parish played 1,106 in green.

Pierce is also first in three-pointers made (1,823), first in free throws made (6,434), seventh in rebounds (6,651), fifth in assists (4,305), first in steals (1,583), fourth in blocked shots (668), first in turnovers (3,213) and third in fouls (3,124).

New York Knicks v Boston Celtics - Game Four

Pierce won an NBA title with the Celtics in 2008 after Kevin Garnett and Ray Allen joined the cause in Boston.

The question now is: Who's next? It's undeniable that Garnett (number 5 in Boston, by the way) and Allen (number 20) had huge hands in bringing Boston the title, but their time in Beantown was comparatively short.

Garnett played for the Celtics for six seasons, and Allen was there for five years. The more likely candidate is Rajon Rondo, who played his first eight seasons (and part of a ninth) in Boston.

None of those three would probably warrant consideration with typical franchises, but the Celtics are pretty retiring-happy when it comes to those jerseys.

So you might want to watch out for a few more jersey retirement celebrations soon.

We know the Celtics will be ready.

News Now - Sport News