Throw-in on FIFA.

What happens when you score an own goal from a throw-in on FIFA 17

Published Add your comment

Football News

There are some laws in football that have probably never been implemented due to how unlikely they are to happen.

For example, how many times has a club been awarded the win because an opponent has had five players sent off?

And what happens if a goalkeeper scores directly from a goal-kick. Does it count?

And do you know what happens if you accidentally score an own goal from a throw-in?

We can’t actually remember any professional footballer being stupid enough to do that.

Of course, there was a moment when Aston Villa scored an own goal against Birmingham from a throw-in but we can only assume it counted because goalkeeper Peter Enckelman touched the ball slightly with his studs.

But what if he didn’t touch it? What decision would the referee make?

Well, YouTuber DTT attempted to find out what would happen on FIFA 17.

As you can see in the video, he makes the defender do a long throw that sails over the head of his goalkeeper and into the back of the net without touching anyone.

After the ball finds the back of the net, the opposition team celebrate and the goal stands.

Take a look:

But this is very wrong. Why?

Well, because FIFA rules state that a goal cannot be scored directly from a throw-in. In the FIFA law book - page 14 - it states: “A goal cannot be scored directly from a throw-in. If the ball enters the thrower’s own goal directly from a throw-in, the referee shall award a corner kick.”

So there you have it.

FIFA 17 have got it all wrong. If an own goal is scored from a throw-in, it should be a corner, rather than a goal. Sort it out, EA Sports.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Thierry Henry

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again