There are some laws in football that have probably never been implemented due to how unlikely they are to happen.
For example, how many times has a club been awarded the win because an opponent has had five players sent off?
And what happens if a goalkeeper scores directly from a goal-kick. Does it count?
And do you know what happens if you accidentally score an own goal from a throw-in?
We can’t actually remember any professional footballer being stupid enough to do that.
Of course, there was a moment when Aston Villa scored an own goal against Birmingham from a throw-in but we can only assume it counted because goalkeeper Peter Enckelman touched the ball slightly with his studs.
But what if he didn’t touch it? What decision would the referee make?
Well, YouTuber DTT attempted to find out what would happen on FIFA 17.
As you can see in the video, he makes the defender do a long throw that sails over the head of his goalkeeper and into the back of the net without touching anyone.
After the ball finds the back of the net, the opposition team celebrate and the goal stands.
Take a look:
But this is very wrong. Why?
Well, because FIFA rules state that a goal cannot be scored directly from a throw-in. In the FIFA law book - page 14 - it states: “A goal cannot be scored directly from a throw-in. If the ball enters the thrower’s own goal directly from a throw-in, the referee shall award a corner kick.”
So there you have it.
FIFA 17 have got it all wrong. If an own goal is scored from a throw-in, it should be a corner, rather than a goal. Sort it out, EA Sports.
Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: https://www.givemesport.com/writeforgms