Gordon blow for Burley

Published Add your comment

Football News

Craig Gordon has been left out of the Scotland squad for next week's crucial World Cup qualifier in Norway.

The Sunderland number one has struggled to recover from a knee injury after undergoing season-ending surgery at the start of May.

Gordon is a huge loss for manager George Burley, with Rangers goalkeeper Allan McGregor's Scotland career over following his part in the 'Boozegate' saga.

Gordon's absence leaves Burley with three inexperienced goalkeepers at this level in Neil Alexander, David Marshall and Jamie Langfield.

As expected, the talismanic James McFadden returns to the squad for the first time since November, while there are also recalls for Celtic midfielder Shaun Maloney, Burnley defender Steven Caldwell, Preston full-back Callum Davidson and Rangers striker Steven Naismith.

Celtic midfielder Scott Brown is included, despite only recently returning from injury, but there is no place for veteran Rangers defender David Weir, Cardiff midfielder Gavin Rae or Derby's Gary Teale.

Stephen McManus, James Morrison, Gary Naysmith, Kirk Broadfoot and Chris Iwelumo were all omitted due to injury.

The squad will meet up on Thursday, apart from players from the Coca-Cola Championship, who will link up with the party on Sunday as they will be in action this weekend.

There are ongoing discussions with Manchester United regarding the early release of Darren Fletcher, who is likely to captain the side in the absence of McManus, with Burley keen for him to miss Sunday's Community Shield clash with Chelsea.

Scotland squad for World Cup Group Nine match with Norway in Oslo on August 12: N Alexander (Rangers), Langfield (Aberdeen), Marshall (Cardiff); Barr (Falkirk), Berra (Wolves), G Caldwell (Celtic), S Caldwell (Burnley), Davidson (Preston), Hutton (Tottenham), McAllister (Bristol City), Whittaker (Rangers); Alexander (Burnley), Brown (Celtic), Commons (Derby), D Fletcher (Manchester United), Hartley (Bristol City), Maloney (Celtic), McFadden (Birmingham); Clarkson (Bristol City), S Fletcher (Burnley), McCormack (Cardiff), Miller (Rangers), Naismith (Rangers).

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Tottenham Hotspur
James McFadden
Shaun Maloney
James Morrison
Bristol City
Steven Caldwell
Gary Teale
Stephen McManus
Chris Iwelumo
Premier League
Cardiff City
Preston North End
Derby County
Manchester United
David Marshall
Darren Fletcher
Gavin Rae
Scott Brown
Wolverhampton Wanderers
Scott Brown
Gary Naysmith
Callum Davidson
Craig Gordon

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again