Graham grabs goal in Watford debut

Published Add your comment

Football News

Summer signing Danny Graham helped new Watford boss Malky Mackey make a bright start in the Scot's first game in permanent charge at Vicarage Road against Doncaster, although they were held to a 1-1 draw.

The Hornets were this week ordered to pay Carlisle £200,000 for Graham's services by a tribunal but he started to pay a chunk of that off with the opener, tucking home Tommy Smith's cross from six yards.

However, James Hayter's looping header seven minutes before half-time secured a share of the points.

Krisztian Timar's fifth-minute marker gave Plymouth the lead but Alan Lee equalised for Crystal Palace in the 63rd minute.

Leicester got their return to the Championship off to a great start as they came from behind to beat Swansea 2-1 at the Walkers Stadium.

Ashley Williams' header gave Swansea a half-time lead over last season's League One champions. The hosts should have equalised shortly before the hour mark but Steve Howard saw his penalty saved by Dorus de Vries.

However, De Vries could do nothing in the 69th minute as Martyn Waghorn's shot was deflected past him and seconds later Danny N'Guessen scored the winner.

A dramatic finish at Deepdale saw Preston draw 2-2 with Bristol City. Paul Hartley's penalty broke the deadlock shortly after the break after Nicky Maynard was brought down by Youl Mawene. And David Clarkson scored on his debut to double their lead in the 58th minute.

A cracking volley from Jon Parkin eight minutes from time set up a tense finale and Callum Davidson's stoppage-time penalty saw them snatched a share of the spoils

Reading were held to a goaless draw at the Madejski Stadium by Nottingham Forest who had Luke Chambers sent off two minutes from time for an off-the-ball incident.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Dorus De Vries
Leicester City
Ashley Williams
Doncaster Rovers
Krisztian Timar
Jon Parkin
Bristol City
Alan Lee
League One
James Hayter
Ashley Williams
Krisztian Timar
Preston North End
Steve Howard
Danny Graham
Tommy Smith
Luke Chambers
Nottingham Forest
Nicky Maynard
Carlisle United
Martyn Waghorn
Tommy Smith
Crystal Palace
Plymouth Argyle
Callum Davidson
Swansea City
David Clarkson
Youl Mawene
Paul Hartley

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again