Fryatt goal enough for Foxes win

Published Add your comment

Football News

A 53rd-minute goal from prolific scorer Matty Fryatt earned Leicester a 1-0 Coca-Cola Championship win over bottom club Barnsley.

QPR shared a 1-1 draw with struggling Nottingham Forest at Loftus Road. Mikele Leigertwood put the home side ahead in the 25th minute but David McGoldrick equalised in the 56th minute.

A last-minute goal from Miles Addison completed a fine Derby fightback as they earned all three points with a 2-1 win over Plymouth at Pride Park.

Plymouth stunned Derby by taking the lead in the 17th minute after Jake Buxton was adjudged to have fouled Alan Judge.

Judge then composed himself to put the visitors in front from the penalty spot. But Derby fought back to level before the break when Buxton redeemed himself by scoring the equaliser and Addison pounced in the final minute.

Sheffield Wednesday moved into 11th place thanks to a 4-0 demolition of Scunthorpe. Wednesday made light work of United with two goals inside the first 12 minutes.

Richard Wood headed the Owls in front in the sixth minute before Michael Johnson added a second six minutes later. The home side then went three in front through Marcus Tudgay in the 34th minute. The scoring was completed by Darren Potter in the 58th minute.

Watford twice squandered the lead against Blackpool in a contest that eventually ended 2-2.

Tommy Smith gave the home side the lead in the 23rd minute after collecting a pass from Danny Graham to finish in style. But Alex Baptiste levelled in the 55th minute only for Watford to re-establish their advantage through Tom Cleverly seven minutes later.

But the home side were denied victory when Gary Taylor-Fletcher struck a second equaliser in the 71st minute.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Leicester City
Sheffield Wednesday
Gary Taylor-Fletcher
Alan Judge
David McGoldrick
Scunthorpe United
Alex Baptiste
Michael Johnson
Jake Buxton
Richard Wood
Derby County
Danny Graham
Tommy Smith
Matty Fryatt
Nottingham Forest
Queens Park Rangers
Miles Addison
Mikele Leigertwood
Tommy Smith
Michael Johnson
Darren Potter
Plymouth Argyle
Marcus Tudgay

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again